U5 #3 – Blast/Bless: First Collages

A preview

After a few essays on paper, I decided to continue to the computer. Even though it seems strange to set the text in Photoshop, I guessed it would be the most logical way to prepare the text for print, as I want to be able to manipulate the text and letters as freely as possible.
So I re-cut out a selection of phrases, which leaves me with a lot of material to work with, I am probably going to leave out some of the examples.

text selection

text selection

Screen shot 2013-01-20 at 19.04.06

After roughly dividing the blastings and blessings into categories (Luxembourg, Paris, London, Random and Cover possibilities), I start to rearrange them on the cards.

Screen shot 2013-01-20 at 19.36.15

Luxembourg

Screen shot 2013-01-20 at 23.30.45

Paris

Screen shot 2013-01-20 at 23.30.50

London

Screen shot 2013-01-20 at 23.31.08

Random

Screen shot 2013-01-20 at 23.31.34

the Alphabet

Screen shot 2013-01-20 at 23.31.41

Blast/Bless Titles and Covers

And I start to separate them and edit them one by one.

Luxemburgish

Luxemburgish

Luxemburgish Food

Luxemburgish Food

Landscapes

Landscapes

I am not very convinced by the first try-outs yet, as they seem too light and fragile for postcards, so I might change to the formats of the notebooks after all, or add landscape illustrations of the locations in order to accentuate them. I am also thinking of re-adding colour, either by colouring the text in again or printing on coloured paper. I also have to increase the size differences between the words, but that could make the larger letters turn out pixelated.
It is not very easy to create contrasts as the typewriter font is very light, even in larger scales, so my options are even more limited than I thought at the beginning.

Leave a Reply

