U7 #5 – in progress

2013-03-11 11.36.59 2013-03-11 11.37.07

Having now filmed a few people listening to music in order to look at how they move according to music, I am now looking at how I can capture the movement/information and transform as well as isolate it from the person.

While looking at ways of tracking the movement I came across the Motion Capture, which is how they record people’s movements through multiple camera recordings to translate it into animations (as described on Wikipedia). It is probably how I would have been able to capture the movements in a most accurate way. But I didn’t know about that until now and don’t have the ressources or time for that as the project is due on Friday. I then continued looking further into movement and tracking, coming across Match Moving, Motion Estimate and Motion Interpolation as well as Optical Flow. However I don’t know anything about any of these. Initially, the plan was to “simply” track the movement on After Effects and apply a stroke to it. However I don’t know if that’s what I want to do with it (and I also have to learn how to do that first, as well).
The Motion Capture, in which they use key spots to reflect the movement, has made me think about long exposure photos and that I could also have tried to capture movements through taking long exposure photos or film in the dark with only a few lightspots to make the movement abstract. But as I don’t have the time (or the studio, they are all booked out, film as much as photography studios) I am going to have to find an alternative, maybe through looking at Optical Flow closer or analogue manipulation of the films, such as drawing over them.

But here are a few screenshots of the films. Unfortunately I only managed to get a a film studio yesterday morning, so I had to find alternatives to the amazing studio atmosphere, which apparently are only our graphic design studios (but I didn’t want to do nothing). So:

Screen shot 2013-03-13 at 00.06.52

Screen shot 2013-03-13 at 00.09.23 Screen shot 2013-03-13 at 00.12.22 Screen shot 2013-03-13 at 00.13.49 Screen shot 2013-03-13 at 00.04.04

The poses alone don’t say much out about what people perceive from the music, which is why I wanted to capture the movements. People also tend to be more open when listening to music alone, when in company it becomes difficult for them to focus on the music only, they start to talk to each other or with people behind the camera. Every person reacts differently to music, depending on their character and their taste/opinions on what is being played. In order to be able to compare their movements I had a playlist prepared with a mixture of music, but also asked for them to bring some of their favourite music that they were familiar with and had a connection with.

I am now going to look at how I can translate the moving image into a single image, or how I am going to capture the movement.

I might try out photography with it after all, but i am not sure because of the tight schedule and because I don’t want to leave the film material untouched. I am also going to try and capture more people’s movements.

Leave a Reply

