Exhibition: Light Show at the Hayward Gallery /Context dissertation research

Luckily for me, the Light Show at the Hayward Gallery at Southbank was extended for another week, so I took the opportunity to have a break and be inspired by it.

Screen shot 2013-05-04 at 23.53.01
I was especially looking forward to seeing a piece by James Turrell in real life as I had designed an exhibition book about his work in 2011 (as part of my course at ECV) but had never seen one before.
All in all (I am not going to describe all of my experiences in the exhibition, that would go on far too long and it is kept in my sketchbook for now) I really enjoyed the show, especially because it is also sort of related to my dissertation research area considering that the exhibition and artists’ works made the visitors part of the exhibition and environment and let them experience rather than just see the work. During my context research, I am looking at perception, the limits of an image, from type to image, but also from a 2D towards a 3D/4D experience, meaning: From visual perception towards a multi-sensory experience. Now I know that this still sounds very vague, but I am just starting with it, and not sure how it is going to turn out.

Here are a few extracts out of my notebook from during the exhibition.

Screen shot 2013-05-04 at 23.52.20 Screen shot 2013-05-04 at 23.52.34 Screen shot 2013-05-04 at 23.52.12

Leave a Reply

