U7 #6 – choosing paper and textures

Having already decided which paper I am going to use for the inside pages (Rey International EcoNature paper, 80 gsm, ivory), I haven’t chosen which paper I want to use and if/what cover image. At John Purcell Paper, I was recommended a white and a black sheet of paper. When I asked them about colour, they told me that they ‘don’t really do coloured paper’, as most of their clients, printmakers, buy white paper and print it to their needs. This made me think about the fact that I hadn’t really considered printing onto the covers instead of keeping them blank (although I like to buy blank notebooks with blank covers that I can personnalise to my wishes, a cover with a grid on it in a colour could be nice). The paper they showed me were South Bank Smooth 250 gsm (white) and JPP Black Cover 185 gsm, which I both liked (so smooth!), but I couldn’t decide and had another trip to Shepherd’s and Falkiner’s on my mind. However the paper that I found there which was appropriated to be folded and resistant enough for cover usage wasn’t really what I looked for either, I therefore decided on a brown recycled kraft-ish look, and will see how it turns out.

paper samples

paper samples

Leave a Reply

