U10 #1 – Branding your Home Town: Garnich, Luxembourg.

U10-1_Hometown_InterimCrit_WEB

For the first Unit 10 project I am researching my home which is Luxembourg. Luxembourg is a Grand Duchy (the only one in the world actually) with a surface of 2568 m2, with the largest width being 57 km and the longest with 82 km, and no it is not the smallest country in the world. Luxembourg is situated in Europe between Belgium, Germany and France. It counts about 500.000 people (about the same as Iceland!) and has three official languages: Luxembourgish, French and German. The capital of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is Luxembourg, the second-largest city is Esch/Alzette. Luxembourg is best known for its fortresses, forrests and castles, the bank industry and economy as well as steel- and wine-industry.

the coat of arms of Garnich

the coat of arms of Garnich

My home town is Garnech (Garnich), which counts about 2000 residents distributed between four villages: Garnech, Duelem (Dahlem), Héiweng (Hivange) and Kohler (Kahler). The villages are situated in the west of Luxembourg and about ten minutes from the Belgian border by and twenty minutes from Luxembourg city by car. While I spent the first few years of my life living in Dahlem, I have been living in Garnich itself for the longest time. But when I speak of village, I mean village: there is as good as nothing else in Garnich other than residential houses and farms and forests. As in most parts of Luxembourg, a car is inevitable to get around and do everyday things even as little as grocery shopping.

the spectacular view from outside of Garnich

the spectacular view from outside of Garnich

a few notes from a quick brainstorm about my home town

a few notes from a quick brainstorm about my home town

 

As there isn’t much going on in my home ‘town’ and not much available history, I decided to focus on the country as my home town project.

Leave a Reply

