U10 #4 – In progress (not so much)

As I have been busy working on a few briefs at the same time I haven’t been able to push my self–initiated brief as much as I would have wanted to, so I am still in the development phase for now.
I have been looking at exhibition design and public spaces as well as typeface design with my current collaborative projects, which is also what I am trying to investigate in this self–directed project, so they fit in and relate to what I want to be working on in this project at right now, but in my opinion these are not specific enough to my subject. I have also worked on a brief half–day collaborative project in the framework of Spatial Media together with Anton last Wednesday in trying to combine King’s Cross and Somer’s Town.
I have been experimenting with the translation of personal space onto a set surface (two sheets of paper) to see how the body limits movement and how it relates to the radius of a person’s personal space (kind of like in some of my taping experiments from last week). For now this has only confirmed that the fictional personal space is circular, following a person’s movement. But how does this relate to (self–)awareness in a public/shared environment? I realise that I also need to do field recordings to be able to isolate the studio ‘noises’ from the visual rooms in the graphic design studios and maybe other parts of university (for now) to see how I can work from there.
I am interested in reflecting the noise happening at the studios at a certain time of day, but in an immediate way. In opposition, the White Wall project that has been installed in the street in uni last week works the other way around: it captures the sound (particularly the piano) next to it to make a display of sound in a day, in a collection that will be of 30 days. It will only be complete after 30 days. I however want to create something reactive and immediate that reacts to the noise or movement inside a space and creates immediate outcome to mirror it (to the outside or to the people inside, I haven’t figured that out yet). I am not sure if I will actually be able to build something that physically reacts, or through a display. I also haven’t decided yet if the outcome should be a kinetic or reactive font with different ‘moods’ or characters for the variation of noise and movement happening in the studio as I don’t know yet what I’ll be able to do especially since the final crit for us is next Monday (interim crit being on this Thursday), but I know that I really have to narrow my aims and directions down.

Leave a Reply

