U10 #4 – Experimentation in progress

2014-04-26 10.44.34

Today I came in into the graphic design studios to do a one–day–mini–brief as a sort of test–run for next week to see how the studios are used and how people interact with each other. However, I did not find a lot of people using the space, not even one person. So the statement ‘there is no public space without overlapping personal spaces’ became obvious due to the absence of personal space (except for mine, but I am rather neutral in this project).

2014-04-26 10.49.19

2014-04-26 10.56.42

2014-04-26 10.56.12

I tested the tapes that I had brought to uni yesterday: isolation tape and packing tape (since i had already used the other tape for the first essays). The isolation tape stands out more, and has more colour choices available (as in 5 colour choices, so just enough for a colour a day). However that means that I would have to use the colour that I can find instead of deciding a colour palette. Since it is not really handy to remove all of that tape (what I did yesterday evening as well in order to be able to start with a blank canvas on Monday).
Another material that I would be able to use would be chalk. It is a lot less permanent and modified over time, which is a good and a bad thing. For the moment I tried with what I had closest to being chalk, which was carré conté and soft pastels. The carré conté didn’t work because they were too hard, but the soft pastels seemed to work quite well and leave me with a lot of colour choices.

2014-04-26 15.07.32
One next to the other makes it quite obvious though on which material is the most visible and which one merges best with the environment, and the soft pastels really are modified and vanish a lot quicker when people walk over them.

Leave a Reply

