U10 #4 – Experimentation in progress: Monday

Today was the first day of the mapping the spaces project. I came into uni around 10 this morning, assuming that before there wouldn’t be many people inside the studios. When I got there, it was still very empty. I stayed around the studios until about 10.30 which is when the usual tutorial sessions start, but was disappointed to see how little students were in the space and most of them were isolated from each other. However to be fair it was ‘early’ in the morning and a Monday, so maybe it will be a bit more used during the week. It was a quiet morning (apparently)
When I came back during the lunch break, it still seemed quite unused, except for a few grouped tables. It was the same later today at the end of the afternoon around 5, except for one or two group working together. All in all I am still quite disappointed in how little people I can find in the studios to map the overlapping of their personal spaces, but I guess that a lot of people are busy working right now, and maybe somewhere more isolated, or maybe I picked the wrong times of the day. I don’t want to make false assumptions just yet.
In terms of the materials I could use I think that I am going to use tape, even though I will only have a limited colour palette (sadly) due to the colour limitations for electric tape and student budget. If I were to use cut-outs from vinyl it would make it less spontaneous and I would have to wait to get the separate shapes back each time. I don’t know yet if I am going to be able to use the videos i took as they have a very shake-y feeling to them and are not good quality since taken on the phone. However if I take the films on a video camera it makes me less anonymous in the space.

Morning:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mid-day:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Late afternoon:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I then also noticed the outside, people on the street and decided to capture them quickly as well to see where it might lead:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Off to do some rough pre-sketching/mapping.

Leave a Reply

